Board of Directors

The Board of Directors manages the general affairs of the Network. It is composed of an elected President, an appointed Secretary, seven elected Directors, up to four co-opted Directors and the immediate Past President.

According to the Constitution, the responsibilities of the Board are to:

  • Decide on the admission of members to the Network.
  • Exclude, upon the recommendation of the President, any member.
  • Ensure that any specific mandate determined by the General Assembly is executed.
  • Replace any members of the Board who resign between Ordinary Meetings. When the Board appoints a director to fill an occasional vacancy caused by the departure of an elected director, the appointed director will serve out the term of office of the departing director and is a full director with the same rights and responsibilities as the director they replace.
  • Take any necessary measures on behalf of the Network between meetings of the General Assembly.
  • Solicit and receive donations and sponsorship on behalf of the Network.
  • Consider and approve annual accounts within three months of the end of a designated financial year.
  • Prepare an annual report on finance and activities for the distribution to members within six months of the end of a designated financial year.
  • Decide, upon the recommendation of the President, to remove, by a majority vote of the full Board, any Director who does not fulfil the obligations outlined in article 41 and accepted as commitments to INQAAHE upon his or her election to the Board of Directors.

The Board works through committees, working groups and/or regional standing committees.

Board composition 2018-2021 is as follows:

Susanna Karakhanyan - President
Higher Education Policy and Regulation Director, Abu Dhabi Department of Education and Knowledge

1st term (2015-2018)
2nd term (2018-2021)

Leah K. Matthews - Vice President
DEAC, Distance Education Accrediting Commission, United States of America

1st term (2018-2021)

Vivek Gupta Ramnarain - Treasurer
TEC, Tertiary Education Commission, Mauritius

1st term (2018-2021)

Angela Yung-Chi Hou
HEEACT, Higher Education Evaluation and Accreditation Council of Taiwan

1st term (2018-2021)

Salim Ahmed Khan
Riphah International University, Pakistan

1st term (2018-2021)

Karen Treloar
TEQSA, Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency, Australia

1st term (2018-2021)

Erika Soboleva
AKKORK (Agency for Higher Education Quality Assurance and Career Development), Russia

1st term (2015-2018)
2nd term (2018-2021)

Michael Bradshaw
University of the West Indies, Trinidad and Tobago

1st term (2019-2021)

Martí Casadesús Fa - Secretary
AQU Catalunya


  Co-opted directors

Orla Lynch
Quality Assurance and Qualifications, Ireland

1st term (2018-2021)


Naji AlMahdi
Knowledge and Human Development Authority, United Arab Emirates

1st term (2019-2021)

Deb Adair
Quality Matters, United States of America

1st term (2019-2021)