2023 Board Election results

INQAAHE announced its 2023 round of Board Directors election as per its Constitution in early February, 2023. From February 6 to March 5 nominations from around the globe were submitted forming a strong pool of candidates, eligible for election. The candidate pool of 15 nominations covered both membership type, gender and geographical outreach requirement – in line with the INQAAHE key principles.

From March 7 until March 20, 2023, an online voting system was set up and the General Assembly was invited to elect up to 2 candidates to fill in the vacant positions. The election was closed on March 20 with 47% participation rate.

Below are the elected candidates, sorted by the number of votes received, who will become INQAAHE Board Directors for a three-year term (2023-2026). More details are available in the following documents:

The results and number of open positions show a tie between T. Chan Basaruddin and Mary Catharine Lennon for the second position. This tie will be broken by the Board in the following days

The next election for the Board, according to the Constitution, will open in 18 months’ time.

Olgun Cicek

Turkish Higher Education Quality Council (THEQC)

Full Membership






T. Chan Basaruddin

National Accreditation Agency for Higher Education (BAN-PT/NAAHE)

Full Membership





Mary Catharine Lennon

Postsecondary Education Quality Assessment Board (PEQAB)

Full Membership

Stay informed of our updates

By subscribing to the newsletter, you agree to our privacy policy.